miércoles, 4 de noviembre de 2009

Philip Glass - In The Upper Room (2009)

glass-upper-roomPhilip Glass's 1986 ballet "In The Upper Room" is arguably the composer's greatest dance work and one in long line of successful collaborations with renowned choreographer Twyla Tharp.

Five movements of this dynamic work were initially released on the 1986 Glass album "Dance Pieces" with the original orchestration enhanced by synthesized sounds to give the music a more 'commercial' vibe.

Now, 23 years after its debut, Philip Glass and his label Orange Mountain Music have released the full nine-movement original scoring of "In The Upper Room" for the first time ever. This new recording strips away the synthesized enhancements and presents the music as Glass originally intended.

Musically, the ballet is full of trademark Glass elements with its short repeated phrases, arpegiated rhythms and strong orchestrations. This is especially apparent in the fourth and ninth movements with their triumphant upbeat themes and variations. Indeed, this can also be said of the rest of the work as the full version is a revelation compared to the individual movements released on the "Glass Pieces" album.

Long time Glass fans will find this CD to be a real treat and a worthwhile addition to their collection. For those just discovering Philip Glass, this is one CD that can be recommended as a solid introduction to his theater work. The only minor complaint I have is the fact that this CD runs for under 40-minutes. The high quality of the music does more than make up for this CD's short length and shows Philip Glass at a high point in his creative powers.

~ Louie Bourland (Amazon)

Label: Orange Mountain Music (USA)
Catalog No: OMM 0056
Genre: Vanguard - Dance music
Total running time:


1. In the Upper Room: I. Dance I
2. In the Upper Room: II. Dance II
3. In the Upper Room: III. Dance III
4. In the Upper Room: IV. Dance IV
5. In the Upper Room: V. Dance V
6. In the Upper Room: VI. Dance VI
7. In the Upper Room: VII. Dance VII
8. In the Upper Room: VIII. Dance VIII
9. In the Upper Room: IX. Dance IX

Cómpralo / Buy it:

- Philip Glass web site
- Amazon USA
- Amazon UK
- CD Universe
- Rhapsody
- i-Tunes Store
- HB Direct
- Last FM

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario

Spam not allowed.

Creative Commons By-Nc-Nd 3.0 Licence

Creative Commons License
Esta web está protegida bajo una licencia de Creative Commons.